News
News from the BioCity Campus

Medical biotechnology helps people with rare diseases

“Medical biotechnology is one of Germany’s high-performing sectors: in 2021 there were 26 approvals for new biopharmaceuticals; and other biotechnological therapeutics and vaccines are currently being tested in clinical trials in 669 projects. It is particularly successful because there is a high medical need for the drugs it produces. This is particularly evident in the treatment of people with rare diseases, for whom there were no treatment options at all for a long time.” That explained Dr. Frank Mathias, Chairman of vfa bio and CEO of Rentschler Biopharma SE, on the occasion of the publication of the industry report "Medical Biotechnology in Germany 2022", which the Boston Consulting Group (BCG) strategy consultants developed for vfa bio, the biotechnology interest group in the vfa.

In addition to an economic industry analysis, the focus of this year's report is on orphan drugs, i.e. drugs for the treatment of people with rare diseases. Of the 200 drugs that have been approved with orphan drug status since 2000, around 30% are biopharmaceuticals, i.e. genetically engineered drugs. They are used in different areas, but particularly often in rare forms of cancer or metabolic disorders. However, the fact that only around 8.000 of around 150 known rare diseases can be treated so far makes it clear that development work still needs to be expanded.

“It's not easy, and further support is needed. But some of the known difficulties in the field of orphan drug development can be overcome through collaborations between healthcare stakeholders," says study author Dr. Jürgen Lücke, Senior Partner at BCG. “Digital solutions developed by treatment centers and companies could make diagnosis easier and help those affected to receive effective therapy more quickly – or to participate in a suitable clinical study. Case registries set up cooperatively by users and companies could provide data for optimizing therapy with orphan drugs for more diseases than before.”

The report provides exemplary insights into what medical biotechnology can probably achieve for people with rare diseases in the coming years: T cells genetically modified in the laboratory could soon not only fight certain lymphomas and leukemias, but also solid tumors such as synovial sarcoma. Antibodies that specifically shut down components of the immune system should make it possible to treat autoimmune diseases such as cold agglutinin disease or myastenia gravis (a muscle weakness). Gene therapies are expected to be able to alleviate some serious visual disorders such as retinitis pigmentosa.

The Biotech Report 2022

The 60-page report analyzes the activities of all companies in medical biotechnology in Germany and illuminates the overall market (pharmacies and clinics) for biopharmaceuticals with data collected by IQVIA. It records original preparations as well as biosimilars. He also goes into the industry as an employer and orphan drugs.

He can under www.vfa-bio.de/publikationen can be downloaded as a pdf or ordered free of charge.

vfa bio represents biotechnology in the vfa, which is committed to the interests of its 48 leading global manufacturers in health, research and economic policy. vfa bio is committed to using the medical and economic potential of biotechnology and making Germany the leading biotechnology location in Europe. 30 companies currently belong to vfa bio.

Source:  Press release vfa bio from 07.06.2022


previous news

Fresh money and new offers: eCovery receives growth capital and completes its portfolio in the field of digital health

eCovery, the provider of digital health products, has closed another round of financing. The insurtech fund 1750 ventures, the adesso subsidiary adesso ventures and other business angels trust in the start-up founded in 2019 and are investing a relevant seven-digit amount in further growth and the expansion of the technologies. At the same time, as part of the capital increase, eCovery is also completing its range of products in the area of ​​prevention: OPT – Online Physiotherapie GmbH will become part of the company and will operate under the same roof in the future.

NextNews

AfterWork networking event on 08th of June !

A relaxed get-together with free beer and other drinks in the BIO CITY.

News
Neues vom BioCity Campus

Medizinische Biotechnologie hilft Menschen mit seltenen Erkrankungen

“Die medizinische Biotechnologie gehört zu Deutschlands Leistungsbranchen: 2021 gab es 26 Zulassungen für neue Biopharmazeutika; und in 669 Projekten werden derzeit weitere biotechnologische Therapeutika und Impfstoffe in klinischen Studien erprobt. Erfolgreich ist sie insbesondere, weil es für die Medikamente, die sie hervorbringt, einen hohen medizinischen Bedarf gibt. Das zeigt sich gerade in der Behandlung von Menschen mit seltenen Erkrankungen, für die es lange Zeit gar keine Therapieoptionen gab.” Das erklärte Dr. Frank Mathias, Vorsitzender von vfa bio und CEO der Rentschler Biopharma SE anlässlich der Veröffentlichung des Branchenreports “Medizinische Biotechnologie in Deutschland 2022”, den die Strategieberatung Boston Consulting Group (BCG) für vfa bio, die Interessengruppe Biotechnologie im vfa, erarbeitet hat.

Der Schwerpunkt des diesjährigen Reports liegt neben einer ökonomischen Branchenanalyse auf den Orphan Drugs, also auf Arzneimitteln zur Behandlung von Menschen mit seltenen Erkrankungen. Von den 200 Medikamenten, die seit dem Jahr 2000 mit Orphan Drug-Status zugelassen wurden, sind rund 30 % Biopharmazeutika, also gentechnisch hergestellte Medikamente. Eingesetzt werden sie in unterschiedlichen Gebieten, doch besonders oft bei seltenen Formen von Krebs oder Stoffwechselstörungen. Dass aber von rund 8.000 bekannten seltenen Krankheiten bisher nur rund 150 behandelbar sind, macht deutlich, dass die Entwicklungstätigkeit noch ausgebaut werden muss.

“Einfach ist das nicht, und Förderung ist weiter geboten. Aber einige der bekannten Schwierigkeiten im Feld der Orphan Drug-Entwicklung können durch Kooperationen zwischen den Akteuren des Gesundheitswesens überwunden werden”, sagt Studienautor Dr. Jürgen Lücke, Senior Partner bei BCG. “Von Behandlungszentren und Unternehmen entwickelte digitale Lösungen könnten die Diagnosestellung erleichtern und den Betroffenen schneller zu einer wirksamen Therapie verhelfen – oder zur Teilnahme in einer passenden klinischen Studie. Von Anwendern und Unternehmen kooperativ aufgebaute Fallregister könnten für mehr Krankheiten als bisher Daten für die Therapieoptimierung zu Orphans Drugs liefern.”

Der Report gibt exemplarische Einblicke, was die medizinische Biotechnologie voraussichtlich in den kommenden Jahren für Menschen mit seltenen Krankheiten erreichen kann: So könnten im Labor gentechnisch veränderte T-Zellen bald nicht nur bestimmte Lymphome und Leukämien, sondern auch solide Tumore wie das Synovialsarkom bekämpfen. Antikörper, die gezielt Komponenten des Immunsystems stilllegen, dürften eine Behandlung von Autoimmunkrankheiten wie der Kälteagglutinin-Krankheit oder der Myastenia Gravis (einer Muskelschwäche) ermöglichen. Mit Gentherapien lassen sich voraussichtlich einige schwere Sehstörungen wie die Retinitis pigmentosa lindern.

Der Biotech-Report 2022

Der 60-seitige Report analysiert die Aktivitäten aller Unternehmen in der medizinischen Biotechnologie in Deutschland und beleuchtet den Gesamtmarkt (Apotheken und Klinik) für Biopharmazeutika mit von IQVIA erhobenen Daten. Er erfasst dabei Originalpräparate wie auch Biosimilars. Zudem geht er auf die Branche als Arbeitgeber und auf Orphan Drugs ein.

Er kann unter www.vfa-bio.de/publikationen als pdf heruntergeladen oder kostenfrei bestellt werden.

vfa bio vertritt die Biotechnologie im vfa, der sich für die Belange seiner 48 weltweit führenden Hersteller in der Gesundheits-, Forschungs- und Wirtschaftspolitik einsetzt. vfa bio macht sich dafür stark, das medizinische und wirtschaftliche Potenzial der Biotechnologie zu nutzen und Deutschland zum führenden Biotechnologiestandort Europas zu machen. vfa bio gehören derzeit 30 Unternehmen an.

Quelle:  Pressemitteilung vfa bio vom 07.06.2022


Previous News

Frisches Geld und neue Angebote: eCovery erhält Wachstumskapital und komplettiert sein Portfolio im Bereich Digital Health

eCovery, der Anbieter für digitale Gesundheitsprodukte, hat eine weitere Finanzierungsrunde abgeschlossen. Der Insurtech Fonds 1750 ventures, die adesso-Tochter adesso ventures sowie weitere Business Angels vertrauen auf das 2019 gegründete StartUp und investieren einen relevanten siebenstelligen Betrag in das weitere Wachstum und den Ausbau der Technologien. Zugleich komplettiert eCovery im Zuge der Kapitalerhöhung auch sein Angebot im Bereich Prävention: Die OPT – Online Physiotherapie GmbH wird Teil des Unternehmens und firmiert künftig unter dem gemeinsamen Dach.

Next News

AfterWork-Netzwerk-Event am 08. Juni !

Ein entspanntes Get-Together bei Freibier und anderen Getränken in der BIO CITY.